If I have one new year resolution , which I am certain that I will stick to and accomplish through the bad and the good of the upcoming 12 months of 2017, is the Reading Challenge. This is the first time, that I will decide a year in advance what books will I read during the year, I never do that, I never plan anything that ahead, especially when it comes to books, with books I have a long wish list of titles that I have accumulated throughout the last years from magazine interviews, literature quotes from twitter and facebook posts and book titles inside books, and so the first title I see in a bookshop I buy, once my online bookshop is having a one day sale I immediately buy that book, so it is truly an odd thing from me to do this, but hey; it is a new year and new habits are formed, so why not give it a try?!?! and so I present to you the:

“THE RUSSIAN CHALLENGE”

15068906_1249123405110146_1156729885527771465_o

 Six BIG books from classical Russian literature:

War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy

Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy

Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoevsky

Doctor Zhivago by Boris Pasternak

The Master and Margarita by Mikhail Bulgakov

Life and Fate by Vasily Grossman

I had the idea from “Vintage” facebook post, see they are publishing new editions of these books, to mark a 100 years on the Russian revolution, I loved the covers so much (I do judge a book by its cover I am sorry to say sometimes) that I just decided that I shall read them all, and to encourage this motion, these are to be released on January the 5th 2017.who am I to say no to destiney?!!? not me, so now my first book “The Master and Margarita” which is the shortest of the group (yes starting slowly to build up for the longest 1296 pages), is ordered and on its way to me.

The funny thing is, I watched all these classics on the screen, and always wondered what the book will be like, but never actually read one, actually never read a russian novel, I have read for Spanish, French, Dutch and of course British and American but never Russian, well that end this year. the year of  The Russian Challenge.

Leave a Reply

